Looking Back, Moving Forward

Standard

Looking back at my 2012 resolutions, let me begin by saying no amount of excuses will get me any closer to reaching my goals…but

2013

So let me be honest with you on whether or not I have achieved 2012 resolutions:

1. Start a blog- Check! It began as a way for me to express myself, my knowledge, and my passion, today it has made me more marketable in my career and helped me reach others I otherwise would never had the chance to.

2. Fit in fitness for myself- Check! Although I have not gone back to a dedicated regimen and diet plan, I have made an effort to workout entirely for myself either before or after work a few times a week in addition to being a physically active for work full time as a personal trainer.

3. Go to church- Check! Again, this could be marked unchecked as I have not found a permanent church home, however I think attending a variety of churches has been intellectually stimulating, religiously adventurous, and great for my own exploration and relationship with my Savior.

4. Immerse myself in a new culture; be that through language, cuisine,  or travel- Unfortunately no. There is no explanation for my selfishness or inability to look outside what I already know and understand.

5. Focus on family- Check! No questions on this one, pretty sure moving from Iowa to Minnesota checks this one off my list as I am back in the area where I grew up.

6. Help others- No once again. The resolution as a whole was too vague to quantify or decide on whether or not this has been accomplished. In the future I hope to go on a mission trip, build a home with Habitat for Humanity or volunteer with Extreme Home Makeover, Feed the Hungry at a Soup Kitchen, or join some other philanthropic local group.

7. Start a new hobby (golfing, quilting, rock climbing, etc)- Check! The key word in last years resolution was start. That being said, I have started knitting in the very earliest form of knitting…I have exactly one row of stitches “cast on” to my knitting needle, the official row 1, has left me frustrated with my knitting efforts.

8. Mind my own health–doctor, dentist, optometrist- I am going to leave this unchecked as I have only managed to set one dentist appointment, and have around 3 more before I am back on a regular dentist check-up and maintenance schedule….these darn wisdom teeth need to be removed first! OUCH.

9. Become financially savvy- With the Fiscal Cliff looming over America’s head, I would like to believe that I have taken more interest in becoming more financially savvy, however I am fairly certain that I could do more…a lot more in becoming more savvy.

10. Become eco-friendly…reduce, reuse, recycle- Check! I have reduced my carbon footprint significantly with the move to Minnesota, cutting my commute time of 3 hours/day down to 30 minutes/day, and that is being generous. In addition, my new townhouse living has both garbage and recycling pick-up which makes me feel just that much better. Next step, using more filtered water and less bottled waters. For more recycling tips go to:

http://www.usa.gov/topics/environment-agriculture/going-green

http://www.thedailygreen.com/going-green/latest/green-tips-10-easiest

3 responses »

  1. Starting a blog is quite amazing, nice work on accomplishing this. Getting involved with church will also help with your goal of helping others, as I’m sure most churches can lead you into groups or ministries that do exactly what you are seeking.

    • Thanks Matt, those are really good suggestions and may give me an idea of where to start. I also appreciate you taking the time to read my blog and post comments! It’s really fun to get my thoughts out there.

Leave a Reply

