Population Me

Standard

How often do you think about yourself throughout the day? We all are so vain, myself included. Yet, with vanity the front-runner for almost everything we do and decision we make, I am having the hardest time developing a thoughtful answer to the interview question “please tell me about yourself”.

Initially, I would like to begin with I am Lindsay, a 2009 graduate with a Bachelors degree in Kinesiology and Health, blah blah blah. However, they have my resume right in front of them and they are a literate person, so why would I reitterate what my resume already reads?!

Next, I considered being brutally honest with them that I am a type A, blue personality, who can be deemed a “sainted pit-bull”. I am far from intimidating standing at 4 feet 11 inches tall, however I am stubborn as an ox and  “no one can make you feel inferior without your consent” (thank you, Eleanor Roosevelt for that beautiful quote) type of mind-set. Yet, if I am looking to be hired for a new job, and at that a promotion, that is probably not a good introduction to myself.

As an educated individual, I took to the books. I have learned that you should keep it short and concise, a brief summary of who you and and how you are the person for the company/job without coming outright and saying it. Here is my about me:
I am an extravert who interacts well with others. I am detail and quality driven, dependable, and analytical. I have worked for X company for more than 3 years including my internship at Y location within X company. I have helped establish a solid working relationship within X company at Z location since X took on this client in 2009. I would like to continue to be a part of a company who infuses health and wellness into peoples everyday lives. It is my passion and goal to pass my love for health and well-being to the people I serve.

How do you prepare for interivews? What are your tips or tricks to answering the question “tell me about yourself”?

Leave a Reply

