Fit Tip Tuesday {No.7}

Standard

Post-workout drinks?

There’s a whole lot of information out there for which drink someone should drink post-workout. Many popular go-to drinks are water, Gatorade, Powerade, or enhancement shakes (protein shakes).

Got Milk?

2% Reduced Fat Chocolate Milk Nutrition
Joel Stager, director of the Human Performance Laboratory at Indiana University, found and published in this month’s International Journal of Sport Nutrition and Exercise Metabolism that chocolate milk is the perfect catch all recovery drink for the endurance athelte. Compared to other recovery drinks, chocolate milk has double the amount of carbohydrates and protein. The perfect combination for replenishing tired muscles..but also packs a 1-2 punch with calcium, a little sodium, and sugar to help your body retain water and regain energy!
 
Before you switch out your glass of water for a glass of chocolate milk, assess your workout regime or level. Chocolate milk is not the recovery drink for your average workout person. This drink is best fit for endurance athletes such as swimmers, distance runners, and cyclists.
 
My question to you is…what is your recovery go-to drink?
 
 
8 responses »

  1. I remember being astonished by this when my Sports Nutrition professor said it in class. I’d spent years paying for over-priced supplements because of my ignorance.

    Great post! For me, I just drink my own sugar/salt mixture during my hour-long workouts (it’s pretty much the same nutrient profile as Gatorade). After my workout, I’m sure to eat a lot of carbs and some protein.

    • Sitting in lecture hall I remember this being said, years later as I am in the health/wellness industry I am now sharing the same information with my clients. Amazing how that is. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  2. @ highlevelworkout, The first thing you need to know is that I am very active between my full-time job and coaching high school athletes…I teach 1-2 group fitness classes ea/day M-F in addition to fitting in my own strength training 2-3x/week. When I am not teaching class, strength training, or coaching I am also training for a half-marathon in June. Fitness is my life!

  3. Great info Lindsay. Cheap nutrients is the way to go versus overpriced dietary supplements. I typically down a class of chocolate milk and eat a chocolate chip cookie after 10-20 mile runs. After weight lifting workouts I’ll eat a can of tuna for quick protein. Been doing the tuna thing since I was a freshman at Iowa State. Made Libby upset once because we lifted together at Beyer Hall, I ate the tuna in her dorm room afterwards and left the rements in her garbage, she said it smelled.

Leave a Reply

